KENSINGTON, MD, January 30 – The Montgomery County Democratic Central Committee (MCDCC) nominated Mr. David Naimon and Dr. Elisse Barnes to serve as regular members and Mr. Alan Banov to serve as a substitute member (photo, left to right) of the Montgomery County Board of Elections. The nominations are subject to the approval of the Governor and consent of the Maryland Senate.

Board of Elections members serve for a term of 4 years beginning on the first Monday of June that follows a gubernatorial election. The Montgomery County Board of Elections has 5 regular members and 2 substitute members. Three regular members are nominated by the majority party—the political party of the incumbent Governor—and 2 are nominated by the minority party. Each political party also nominates 1 substitute member.

In addition to Messrs. Naimon and Banov and Dr. Barnes, 4 individuals submitted applications and supporting documentation for this important, time-intensive volunteer public service: Lynn Garland, Elbridge Garner James, Gail Carter, and Don Weinstein. According to MCDCC Chair Scott Goldberg, “To know that there were so many devoted, extremely qualified Montgomery Countians who stepped up when asked to protect our right to free and fair elections proves once again the greatness of the American spirit. All 7 had something positive to offer during the nomination process. We are lucky to have David Naimon and Alan Banov continue their important work, and we welcome Dr. Elisse Barnes, who will be particularly helpful in reaching out to East County residents and resolving the unacceptable voter experience of the recent election.”